Hello world!

As many of you know, I am getting ready to go out of town on tour. I’ll be traveling for about four weeks, two in Europe and two in the US. It will be the longest tour of my career so far, and since I’ve put the US part together myself, one of the most stressful! πŸ™‚ But I am really excited and can’t wait to get out and meet everyone in person.

Putting a tour together is like putting together a puzzle where the pieces change every time you put them in place. The moving parts never cease, and we (my father / tour manager Stephen Fulton and I) will be working on promoting the shows and adding in some educational opportunities right up until we go on stage, every night! That’s the work, but it’s also the fun of it. I really love taking my music into unexpected locales and giving people a chance to experience Jazz (I mean #BAM if Nicholas Payton is reading).

Touring used to be so much a part of the Jazz musician’s life. Lou Donaldson (among so many others) spent almost his entire career criss-crossing America in his car with his band and a U-Haul trailer in tow. He played dives and joints as well as Jazz clubs, met people and made fans. These days, with the price of gas being so high and the venues being so far and few between, it’s hard for a lot of us to see this kind of touring as a possibility. I’m happy to say that with YOUR help I have been able to find some truly unique venues in which to present my music. My Facebook friends have directed me to Vanelli’s (the Village Vanguard of Mississippi as vOz says) in Tupelo, which is a pizza parlor / Jazz club, Nine48 Jazz in Nashville (where we’ll do a house concert), and Lane Music in Germantown TN (which is a music store).

This US tour will take us through more than 12 states, starting in NYC and going as far West as Columbia MO at one point, and as far south as Auburn AL at another. That’s a lot of time for four grown people to spend in a car. When I was a baby and I wouldn’t go to sleep my parents would take me for a ride in our car. It always put me at ease. So you know why I will love the drive! Or rather, why I love to be driven, because I still don’t have a driver’s license. So let’s hope that Stephen & Elias (Bailey, our bassist) love to drive too.

I hope if you live near any of these spots that you will come say hello! Thanks so much for reading and please comment!

March 23, 2013 Festival Jazz en Mars (Tarnos, France)
March 24, 2013 Foyer Leo Lagrange, Verneuil en Halatte (Oise, France)
March 26, 2013 Sunset-Sunside Club (Paris, France)
March 29-30, 2013 Jamboree Jazz Club (Barcelona, Spain)
April 4 & 5 ,2013 Andy’s Jazz Club (Chicago, IL)
April 7, 2013 We Always Swing Jazz Series (Columbia, MO)
April 9, 2013 Lane Music Inc.(Germantown, TN)
April 10& 11, 2013 Vanelli’s (Tupelo, MS)
April 12, 2013Β Cultural Arts Center of East Alabama (Opelika, AL)
April 13, 2013 Barking Legs Theatre (Chattanooga, TN)
April 14, 2013 Nine48Jazz (Nashville, TN)
April 17, 2013 Cleopatra’s Needle (New York, NY)

This entry was posted in All Business, gigs and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

20 Responses to Hello world!

  1. Thanks for publicing this fantastic information. Keep up this good work. I’ll subscribe to your website also. Thanks!

    Like

  2. Pingback: My First Time in Catalonia | The Undisputed Champian

  3. yourpeltness says:

    Hey Champian- Have a good tour. I’m happy you’re one of the few cats (like myself) that is learning the ins and out of planning tours. It’s tedious, as you’ve no doubt seen) but the rewards are worth it. Have a good one !

    Like

  4. Sylvia Fortunato says:

    Love your blog! I’m looking forward to following you. Safe travels and have a blast! I wish you much success.

    Like

  5. RenΓ©e Yoxon says:

    Have fun and safe travels!

    Like

  6. Jimmy Vickers says:

    Looking forward to your Nashville stop. My folks tell me that I would not go to sleep either until the nightly car-ride! I knew you and I had something in common….

    Like

  7. John Pluta says:

    Champ, I assume that the European trip has some time set aside for shopping!

    Like

  8. MOLLIE BAILEY says:

    You all have a safe trip and Elias is a very good driver!!!!!!!!!!!!!!! You will be safe so go and sleep like a baby. LOL
    hugs,
    ma bailey

    Like

  9. Lynn goucher says:

    Awesome blog Champ! I’m going to enjoy reading about your travels around the world especially the jazz world en France!! Bon Voyage!!

    Like

  10. I am from Porto, Portugal. As your tour does not include Portugal this time I am considering flying to Barcelona to watch you there. By the way I think the date in the schedule above for your second Barcelona date is wrong.
    Take care!

    Like

  11. Lacy Blackledge says:

    The POD wishes you safe travels!

    Like

What do you think?

