I Recognize This Place!

Yesterday was really amazing. I started it by doing one of my favorite things in the world: being on the radio! My father, Stephen Fulton, had a radio show on KGOU in Norman OK when I was growing up and I got to spend a lot of time there with him while he was on the air. There’s something so magical about sharing music with countless unknown people while sitting in a little room by yourself. Doing an interview over the phone is always fun, but visiting the station is the best.

Laure Albernhe had me on her show on TSF Jazz in Paris at noon. We did an interview where she spoke English AND French, translating for me. I promised her next time I’ll learn more French! šŸ™‚ After the interview I performed “It’s Too Late Baby” from my new album, Champian Sings & Swings live on the air.

20130327-210515.jpg

That evening I performed at Sunside Jazz Club! I didn’t know what to expect in terms of audience size (especially since it was a Tuesday night) but we had an almost packed house! I was so happy. The piano there is really nice and it was great to play for people who were so into the music. On my first break I met some very nice women who work for L’Oreal Cosmetics. I am a makeup FANATIC and I immediately started telling them about my new Yves Saint Laurent lipstick (rouge volupte shine in 6 “pink in devotion” if you must know) and we became fast friends. In case Pan, Anh, Shalom, and Lisa are reading – I would love to be the face of L’Oreal! Hahaha! šŸ™‚

20130327-211213.jpg

We did two complete sets and then a “mini” third set at the end for the diehard listeners who really made the hang. I love ending the evening that way; it always feels like a little private hang with some friends. I feel really free to try some material and really be myself! So much fun.

20130327-211503.jpg

I was very lucky to have some good friends and fellow musicians in the audience as well, and after the show we all went out for a bite to eat. It was about 1 in the morning and VERY cold and we got quite lost trying to find this restaurant (which I’m not certain exists! Haha), and finally had to give up and take a cab to the Saint Michel area. Unfortunately I can’t remember the name of the restaurant where we ended up BUT it was quite memorable in other ways! There was a pianist playing and everyone in the establishment was singing along! In Russian! It was amazing! I never saw anything like it. We ordered cote de boeuf, which was a steak that could have easily fed a small army. DELICIOUS.

After our meal (and lengthy conversation) we began to leave the restaurant only to realize I didn’t know the address or the name of my hotel!!! I was quite convinced, however, that I could find it on foot! They didn’t believe me, mostly because I’m the kind of person who walks around Paris and says “oh, I recognize that!” only to then realize I have never seen it before, BUT I did recognize Notre Dame!!! Haha. It was quite a sight to walk along the Seine at 3 AM.
With such obvious landmarks (oh there’s the conciergerie!) I was able to locate my hotel, thank goodness! What an amazing night of fun and good energy!

Je t’aime paris!! See you next time šŸ™‚

Next stop: Barcelona (my first time there!) Have you visited Barcelona before? What should I eat? What should I see? Words of wisdom? Let me know in the comments section!!

20130327-212825.jpg

This entry was posted in gigs, notes from the road and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to I Recognize This Place!

  1. Pingback: Performing at Sunside Jazz Club in Paris | The Undisputed Champian

  2. Sorry, never been to Barcelona… but when you return to the States I’d love to record an interview with you for my show on South Africa’s AllJazzRadio http://alljazzradio.co.za oh and here’s my new DJ Jimmy Jazz Facebook Page – https://www.facebook.com/DjJimmyJazz?ref=hl Have fun in Spain — Remember, stay out of the plains.. The rain in Spain stays mainly there.

    Like

What do you think?

