A few nights in a castle in Cognac….

Today I traveled to Cognac, France, where tomorrow I will be playing at the Cognac Blues Passions Festival. I have never been to this region of France before and it’s really gorgeous. Especially since we are staying in a castle!

20130702-233251.jpg

I feel like Lady Mary in Downton Abbey. The grounds are beautiful and quite large; there are ponds and lots of deer. And my room is very peaceful with an amazing view –

20130702-233456.jpg

The castle is so large and not very full of people, I will admit that I’m a little spooked about all the empty rooms – ARE THERE GHOSTS?

20130702-233820.jpg

I’ve never had Cognac before, so that was one of the first orders of business. A “Summit” was recommended, and so a summit was had.

20130702-233942.jpg

Delicious!

When I woke up this morning there was a family of deer outside my window, and the most amazing rolling fog coming up the hill. The trees kept appearing and disappearing. It’s so beautiful, but a bit rainy and cold so I really want to stay on bed all day instead of getting ready for soundcheck. Haha. I hope it warms up a little or I’ll be freezing on stage!

20130703-123125.jpg

Tonight when we return there is a party being held, and Jamie Cullum is the entertainment! Do you think I’ll meet him?

This entry was posted in notes from the road and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to A few nights in a castle in Cognac….

  1. Shane London says:

    Your talent will take you to many wonderful places. Please note that you are #1 in my You Tube Channel (shanelondonjazzvideo). Spred the news around wherever you go. The more people will see you, the more popular you’ll become. Fame is the game for you. Enjoy France. SL

    Like

What do you think?

