Champian’s Listening Party (Part 2)

A few months ago I had the great opportunity to get together with Jazz pianist / vocalist / radio host Judy Carmichael and record an interview for her public radio show, “Jazz Inspired”. I met Judy last summer while we were both performing at the Ascona Jazz Festival in Switzerland and we immediately hit it off. It’s a rare treat to record an interview with someone you can consider a friend, so I am very happy with this interview and the way it turned out. We get into some interesting topics aside from my own personal history, including our thoughts on Jazz academia and why Jazz is best when it isn’t perfect.

You can listen to the show on your local NPR station, sirius XM, and you can also listen right now for free via player.fmΒ 

Also, if you were unable to attend my show last week at Dizzy’s Club Coca Cola (you were missed!) a fan has kindly posted a video to youtube of the entire performance of “Summertime” which features my voice and the great Buster Williams. (It’s an iPhone video, but still pretty cool IMO!)

That night was really very special to me because Buster has long been one of my favorite bass players and one of my favorite people on the Jazz scene in New York, so to finally be able to make music with him was a dream come true. To be totally honest, most of the evening felt like an out of body experience.

Champian Fulton (piano), Buster Williams (bass), Stephen Fulton (flugelhorn) and (not pictured) Mark Johnson (drums)

Champian Fulton (piano), Buster Williams (bass), Stephen Fulton (flugelhorn) and (not pictured) Mark Johnson (drums) (Photos by Valerie Cho)

Thru the Cymbals. (Photo by Valerie Cho)

Thru the Cymbals. (Photo by Valerie Cho)

If you’d like to see a video of my performance at the Jazz en Touraine Festival (France) from last September, you’re in luck! They recently sent me a full length HD DVD of my show, and I’m slowing but surely uploading a few of the songs. Watch “Day in Day Out”Β with Esteve Pi on drums and Giorgos Antoniou on bass.

Thanks for reading! What did you think about the interview with Judy?

This entry was posted in My Music & Videos and tagged , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

What do you think?

